CALVIN HICKS

Viewing life curiously.

Milk Duds, Pepsi, Saturday Matinee.

Chitty Chitty Bang BangDo you remember your first movie experience in a theater?  I do!  It was a special matinée showing of the Disney feature ‘Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’ at the grand opening of the ‘Cinema’ in my small southern hometown.  No multiplex, just one gigantic screen that was actually hidden behind a glamorous red curtain.  Okay, so it seemed enormous to my 8-year-old eyes, but the red curtain was definitely glamorous.  There was balcony seating but my mom and I sat in the lower level, on the eighth row in the very center.  I had a small box of popcorn, bennettsville_cinemaMilk Duds, and a small Pepsi.  I remember it like yesterday!  When it was all over, I remember applauding and applauding and applauding!  And telling my mom right then and there that’s what I wanted to do.  And she asked me, “What is it you want to do, exactly?  Drive a flying car?”  I chuckled, took her by the hand, looked her square in the eyes and exclaimed,

  “I WANNA MAKE MOVIES!”

And here I am, years later, with 4 screenplays under my belt, outlines drawn for 3 documentaries, and still filled with the spirit of seeing my dream into fruition.  It’s going to happen…all in perfect timing.  In the meantime, I am still a huge fan of the matinée!  I’ve replaced the Pepsi with bottled water, the popcorn is a medium bag now, and the Milk DudsMilk Duds are a thing of the past.  I still sit on the eighth row from the back, and in the very center seat – which requires an early arrival to assure that it’s available.  Oh, and I don’t mind going solo, even though a companion or two always makes the experience more fun, especially when the film is not quite as good as the preview made it seem.

For me, the foundation of a great movie is the script.  If you have a great story, team it with a solid cast and director, and I am hooked.  Here are a few examples of great stories I’ve seen told thus far this year:

‘Run and Jump’ – Maxine Peake, Will Forte, Edward MacLiam
‘Love and Air Sex’ – Ashley Belle, Zach Cregger, Sara Paxton
‘Girl On A Bicycle’ – Paddy Considine, Nora Tschimer, Louise Monot
‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ – Ralph Fiennes, Bill Murray, Jude Law
‘The Quiet Ones’ – Jared Harris, Erin Richards, Olivia Cooke
‘Belle’ – GuGu Mabath-Raw, Tom Wilkinson, Penelope Wilton, Sara Gadon

The Grand Budapest Hotel Movie Poster Pink

belle_xlggirl_on_a_bicycle_xxlgrun_and_jump_xlg

 

 

 

 

 

And here are a few I’m looking forward to seeing:

‘Wish I Was Here’ –  Zach Braff, Kate Hudson, Mandy Patinkin
‘Lucy’ – Scarlett Johansson, Morgan Freeman
‘Get On Up’ – Chadwick Boseman, Viola Davis, Dan Aykroyd
‘What If’ – Daniel Radcliff, Zoe Kazan, Adam Driver

What-If-Movie-PosterWish I Was HereGet-On-Up-Movie-Posterlucy_xlg

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, I do see the Hollywood Blockbusters,  We’ll talk about a few of those next time.

Enter your email address to follow Calvin and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow CALVIN HICKS on WordPress.com
